Personnel Directory

Lead-PI

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Mark OhmanSIOMesozooplankton Ecologymohman@ucsd.edu

Co-PIs

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Lihini I. AluwihareSIODissolved Organic Matterlaluwihare@ucsd.edu
Katherine A. BarbeauSIOIron Geochemistrykbarbeau@ucsd.edu
James E ConnersSIOInformation Managementjconners@ucsd.edu
Peter FranksSIOBiophysical Modelingpfranks@ucsd.edu
Ralf GoerickeSIOPhytoplankton Ecologyrgoericke@ucsd.edu
Michael LandrySIOFood-Web Structure and Functionmlandry@ucsd.edu
Arthur Art MillerSIOPhysical Oceanography; Modelingamiller@ucsd.edu
Mike StukelFSUCarbon exportmstukel@fsu.edu

Associates

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Andrew AllenSIO/JVCIMicrobial Genomicsaallen@jcvi.org
Farooq AzamSIOBacteria/Microbial Food Websfazam@ucsd.edu
Andrew BartonSIOPlankton Ecology and Climate Impactsadbarton@ucsd.edu
Claudia Benitez-NelsonUofSCMarine Biogeochemistrycbnelson@geol.sc.edu
James BishopUCBMarine Biogeochemistryjkbishop@berkeley.edu
Steven BogradPFELPhysical Oceanographysbograd@pfeg.noaa.gov
Ron BurtonSIOMolecular Probes for Protistsrburton@ucsd.edu
Emmanuele Di LorenzoGeorgia T.Biophysical Modelingedl@eas.gatech.edu
Christopher EdwardsUC Santa CruzEcosystem Modelingcedwards@ucsc.edu
Mati KahruSIOSatellite Imagerymkahru@ucsd.edu
Jennifer MacKinnonSIOOcean Mixingjmackinn@ucsd.edu
Todd MartzSIOChemical Sensorstrmartz@ucsd.edu
Greg B. MitchellSIORemote Sensing and Bio-opticsgmitchell@ucsd.edu
Brian PalenikSIOMicrobial Diversitybpalenik@ucsd.edu
Cari PaulenichSIOEducation, Outreach and Capacity Buildingcpaulenich@ucsd.edu
Daniel L. RudnickSIOMesoscale Ocean Physicsdrudnick@ucsd.edu
Uwe SendSIOMoored Observationsusend@ucsd.edu
Ken SmithMBARIDeep-sea Benthic Ecologyksmith@ucsd.edu
Bill SydemanFIAERSeabird Ecologywsydeman@comcast.net

Affiliated Personnel

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Fanny ChenillatLaboratoire LEMAR Ecosystem Modelingfannychenillat@gmail.com
Shonna L DovelSIOPhytoplankton Samplingsdovel@ucsd.edu
David JensenSIOInformation Managementdwjensen@ucsd.edu
Leslie KretschmarOcean InstituteEducation and Outreachlkretschmar@ocean-institute.org
Megan RoadmanSIOPhytoplankton Samplingmroadman@coast.ucsd.edu
Linsey SalaSIOPelagic Invertebrateslsala@ucsd.edu
Elizabeth L. VenrickSIOPhytoplankton Floristicsevenrick@ucsd.edu
Robin Westlake StoreySIOProject Office Coordinatorrwestlakestorey@ucsd.edu
James R. WilkinsonSIOInformation Managementjwilkinson@ucsd.edu
David M. WolgastSIOSample Analysisdwolgast@ucsd.edu

Post-Docs

view
NameInstitutionInterestsEmail
Tristan BiardSIORhizarian ecologytbiard@ucsd.edu
Peter DavisonFarallon Institute for Advanced Ecosystem ResearchMesopelagic Fishespdavison@ucsd.edu
Rasmus SwalethorpSIOIchthyoplankton trophic ecologyrswalethorp@ucsd.edu

Graduate Students

view
NameInstitutionInterestsSupervisorEmail
Jennifer BrandonSIOZooplankton gut contentsMark Ohmanjabrando@ucsd.edu
Laura LillySIOEl Nino zooplankton transport (CCE grad student representative)Mark Ohmanl1lilly@ucsd.edu
Catherine NickelsSIOWhale/krill interactionsMark Ohmancnickels@ucsd.edu
Sara RiveraSIOMarine bacteriaLihini Aluwihares6rivera@ucsd.edu
Angel RuachoSIOCycling of iron in the CCEKathy Barbeauaruacho@ucsd.edu
Anne SimonisSIOAcoustic EcologySimone Baumann-Pickeringasimonis@ucsd.edu
Brandon StephensSIOOrganic Carbon poolsLihini Aluwiharebmstephe@ucsd.edu
Ben WhitmoreSIOZooglidersMark Ohmanbmwhitmo@ucsd.edu

Associated Graduate Students

view
NameInstitutionInterestsSupervisorEmail
Jessica Carrière-GarwoodScripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSDBiophysical modelingPeter Franksjcarrier@ucsd.edu
Tyler CoaleSIOEukaryotic phytoplanktonAndrew Allentcoale@ucsd.edu
Nathalí Cordero-QuirosSIOEl Niño - Southern Oscillation EventsArt Millernacorder@ucsd.edu
Jeff EllenUCSD Comp. ScienceMachine learningMark Ohmanjellen@ucsd.edu
Alice HaradaSIOEvolution and physiologyRon Burtonaharada@ucsd.edu
Thomas KellyFSUExport effeciency and Systems ModelingMike Stukeltbk14@my.fsu.edu
Lauren ManckSIOMicrobial communities vs. ironKathy Barbeaulmanck@ucsd.edu
Maitreyi NagarkarSIOMicrobial ecologyBrian Palenikmnagarkar@ucsd.edu
Sarah SchwenckScripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSDMicrobial ecologyAndrew Allensschwenc@ucsd.edu
Bellineth ValenciaSIOZooplankton EcologyMike Landrybellival@ucsd.edu

Rebecca Asch

Advisor: Dave Checkley
Degree: 2013
Thesis: Interannual-to-Decadal Changes in Phytoplankton Phenology, Fish Spawning Habitat, and Larval Fish Phenology
Institution: Princeton University, Program in Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
rasch@princeton.edu


Philip Bresnahan

Advisor: Todd Martz
Degree: 2015
Thesis: Novel Marine Inorganic Carbon Sensors for the Anthropocene
Institution: San Francisco Estuary Institute
Position: Environmental Scientist
pbresnah@ucsd.edu


Randie Bundy

Advisor: Kathy Barbeau
Degree: 2014
Thesis: Iron and copper organic complexation in marine systems: Detection of multiple ligand classes via electrochemistry
Institution: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Position: Postdoctoral Scholar
rbundy@whoi.edu


Alison Cawood

Advisor: Mark Ohman
Degree: 2012
Thesis: Laboratory and In Situ Investigations of Factors Affecting the Growth and Survivorship of the Scyphozoan Jellyfish Aurelia sp1
Institution: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
Position: Citizen Science Coordinator
alison.cawood@gmail.com


Peter Davison

Advisor: Dave Checkley
Degree: 2011
Thesis: The export of carbon mediated by mesopelagic fishes in the northeast Pacific Ocean
Institution: Farallon Institute for Advanced Ecosystem Research
Position: Postdoctoral Research Associate
pdavison@ucsd.edu


Moira Decima

Advisor: Mike Landry
Degree: 2011
Thesis: Mesozooplankton trophic variability in a changing ocean
Institution: National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA), Wellington New Zealand
Position: Zooplankton Ecologist
moira.decima@niwa.co.nz


Christopher Dupont

Advisor: Kathy Barbeau
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Physiological, ecological, and evolutionary studies of trace metal homeostasis in marine microbes, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, 2008
Institution: J. Craig Venter Institute (JCVI)
Position: Assistant Professor
cdupont@jcvi.org


Sarah Glaser

Advisor: Dave Checkley
Degree: 2009
Thesis: Foraging ecology of North Pacific albacore in the California Current System, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, CA, 2009
Institution: University of Denver - Korbel School of Intl Studies
Position: Fisheries ecologist
sarah.glaser@du.edu


Miriam Goldstein

Advisor: Mark Ohman
Degree: 2012
Thesis: Abundance and ecological implications of microplastic debris in the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre
Institution: Office of Congresswoman Jackie Speier
Position: Legislative Assistant
miriam.goldstein@gmail.com


Roberta Hansman

Advisor: Lihini Aluwihare
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Microbial metabolism in the deep ocean, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, CA, 2008
Institution: Univ. of Vienna - Dept. of Marine Biology
Position: Postdoctoral Researcher
rhansman@gmail.com


Brian Hopkinson

Advisor: Kathy Barbeau
Degree: 2007
Thesis: Oceanographic and ecological consequences of iron localization in phytoplankton photosystems, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2007
Institution: University of Georgia
Position: Assistant Professor
bmhopkin@uga.edu


Chih-hao Hsieh

Advisor: Mark Ohman and George Sugihara
Degree: 2006
Thesis: Separating environmental effects from fishing impacts on the dynamics of fish populations of the Southern California region, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2006.
Institution: Institute of Oceanography, National Taiwan University
Position: Professor
chsieh@ntu.edu.tw


Pincelli Hull

Advisor: Mark Ohman and Richard Norris
Degree: 2010
Thesis: Macroevolutionary patterns in planktonic foraminifera and the recovery of pelagic ecosystems from the Cretaceous-Paleogene mass extinction
Institution: Yale University
Position: Assistant Professor
pincelli.hull@yale.edu


Erdem Karakoylu

Advisor: Peter Franks
Degree: 2010
Thesis: The foraging sorties hypothesis: Evaluating the effect of gut dynamics on copepod foraging behavior
Institution: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
Position: Senior Application Engineer
erdem.m.karakoylu@nasa.gov


Hey Jin Kim

Advisor: Art Miller
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Physical-biological climate changes in the Southern California Bight, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2008.
Institution: SIO
Position: Programmer/Analyst
hjkim@ucsd.edu


Andrew King

Advisor: Kathy Barbeau
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Iron distribution and phytoplankton iron limitation in the southern California Current System, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2008.
Institution: NOAA Northeast Fisheries Science Center, Milford, CT
Position: Research Ecologist
andrew.king@gmail.com


Amanda Netburn

Advisor: Mark Ohman
Degree: 2016
Thesis: Responses of mesopelagic fish assemblages to environmental disturbance: ocean deoxygenation and oceanic fronts
Institution: National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration
Position: NOAA Sea Grant Knauss Fellow in Ocean Exploration
anetburn@ucsd.edu


Alexis Pasulka

Advisor: Mike Landry
Degree: 2013
Thesis: Marine Protists: Distributions, Diversity and Dynamics
Institution: California Institute of Technology
Position: Postdoc
apasulka@gmail.com


Byron Pedler Sherwood

Advisor: Farooq Azam
Degree: 2014
Thesis: Bacterial Alteration and Removal of Dissolved Organic Matter in the Surface Ocean
Institution: Center for Microbial Oceanography, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
Position: Postdoctoral scholar
bpedler@gmail.com


Jesse Powell

Advisor: Mark Ohman
Degree: 2013
Thesis: Ocean fronts in the Southern California Current System and their role in structuring zooplankton distributions, diel vertical migration, and size composition
Institution: Maglev Strategies LLC
Position: Founder and President
jesse.exmachina@gmail.com


Henry Ruhl

Advisor: Kenneth Smith, Jr.
Degree: 2006
Thesis: Climate and Food Supply Influences on Mobile Epibenthic Megafauna Populations in the Abyssal NE Pacific from 1989 to 2004, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2006
Institution: National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, UK
Position: Project Manager
h.ruhl@noc.soton.ac.uk


Ryan Rykaczewski

Advisor: Dave Checkley
Degree: 2009
Thesis: Influence of Oceanographic Variability on the Planktonic Prey and Growth of Sardine and Anchovy in the California Current Ecosystem, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, CA, 2009
Institution: University of South Carolina - Dept. of Biological Sciences
Position: Assistant Professor
ryk@sc.edu


Ty Samo

Advisor: Farooq Azam
Degree: 2012
Thesis: Microscale habitats and activities of bacteria and their ecological and biogeochemical significance in the ocean
Institution: University of Hawaii
Position: Postdoctoral Scholar
tsamo@hawaii.edu


Melissa Soldevilla

Advisor: John Hildebrand
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Risso's and Pacific white-sided dolphins in the Southern California Bight: using echolocation clicks to study dolphin ecology, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, 2008
Institution: NOAA - Southeast Fisheries Science Center
Position: Researcher, Protected Resources & Biodiversity Division
melissa.soldevilla@noaa.gov


Ha Joon Song

Advisor: Art Miller
Degree: 2011
Thesis: Sensitivity analysis, ocean state estimation and diagnostics in the California Current, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, 2011.
Institution: MIT
Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
hajsong@mit.edu


Mike Stukel

Advisor: Mike Landry
Degree: 2010
Thesis: Biological control of vertical carbon flux in the California Current and Equatorial Pacific
Institution: FSU
Position: Assistant Professor
mstukel@fsu.edu


Aneesh Subramanian

Advisor: Art Miller
Degree: 2012
Thesis: Multiscale dynamics of atmospheric and oceanic variability in the climate system
Institution: SIO
Position: Postdoctoral Researcher
acsubram@ucsd.edu


Vera Tai

Advisor: Brian Palenick
Degree: 2009
Thesis: Diversity and dynamics of Synechococcus populations in the Southern California Bight
Institution: University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Position: Postdoctoral Fellow
vera.tai@botany.ubc.ca


Darcy Taniguchi

Advisor: Mike Landry
Degree: 2012
Thesis: Size structuring of planktonic communities: Biological rates and ecosystem dynamics
Institution: MIT, URI/GSO
Position: Postdoctoral Researcher - NOAA Climate and Global Change
datanigu@MIT.EDU


Michael Vardaro

Advisor: Ken Smith
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Deep-sea Bioturbation and the Role of the Sea Urchin Echinocrepis rostrata, Ph.D. thesis, University of California San Diego, CA, 2008;
Institution: College of Oceanic & Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State Univ.
Position: Assistant Professor
mvardaro@coas.oregonstate.edu


Roman P. de Jesus

Advisor: Lihini Aluwihare
Degree: 2008
Thesis: Natural Abundance Radiocarbon Studies of Dissolved Organic Carbon (DOC) in the Marine Environment
Institution: Stonybrook University
Position: Lecturer, School of Marine & Atmos. Sciences
Roman.DeJesus@stonybrook.edu


Alain de Verneil

Advisor: Peter Franks
Degree: 2015
Thesis: Phytoplankton in Surface Ocean Fronts: Resolving Biological Dynamics and Spatial Structure
Institution: Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography, Aix-Marseille Université
Position: Post-doctoral Researcher
alain.de-verneil@mio.osupytheas.fr


Kristen Buck

Institution: Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences
Position: Assistant Scientist
kristen.buck@bios.edu


Heidi Fuchs

Institution: Rutgers University - Inst.of Marine and Coastal Sciences
Position: Assistant Professor
hfuchs@marine.rutgers.edu


Andres Gutierrez

Institution: SIO
Position:
handress2001@yahoo.es


Francesca Malfatti

Institution: SIO
Position:
fmalfatti@ucsd.edu


Mike Stukel

Institution: FSU
Position: Assistant Professor
mstukel@fsu.edu